RSS

You’re a Poop-head, Sir

18 Mar

For the first time ever I got angry in class. It didn’t amount to much; I gritted my teeth and smiled. There’s a guy in the class I don’t much like. He comes off as a bit of a know-it-all and I don’t much feeling attacked. Beyond that, know-it-alls are just kind of annoying, especially when they don’t know all that much. I’m with Iris Murdoch on the virtues of humility. Maybe it’s not enough on its own, but it sure does count for a lot. People who argue about Christianity without having read the Bible, evolution without having read On the Origin, and so on, annoy me. Actually, they do more than annoy me. Apparently they make me angry.

Where does grit the teeth anger fall on the anger scale? For me, it’s pretty high up there. I don’t get mad very often, and that’s about the extent to which I express it. Maybe this makes me sound like I live life with little emotional nuance. Maybe that’s true.

Ever since my father yelled and yelled I made a covenant to myself to not raise my voice. I’ve broken it all of three times, and each time with the same person. Honestly, it didn’t make me feel any better. I’m not violent, either, having not laid a hand on a woman. Or child. Or assorted pets or general livestock.

So, I don’t express anger much, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I don’t feel it. I do, I just do my best to not allow it to control me. So far, so good. So far, so boring.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

