RSS

Day-to-Day Livin’

26 Mar

Today’s theme (the rest of it– more in the next post) is the personal and not terribly interesting. On that note, while you close this browser, my dear one (1) reader, I’ll dig into my day-to-day life.

A couple days ago I finished growing out my facial hair. I don’t think I had it that long in a long, long time. Kinda sucked, not gonna lie. The good news, if there’s good news, is I didn’t really have much to speak of. For some trans women, hair removal is the most expensive part of transition. That’s kind of amazing, really. Laser works –for permanent reduction– yet isn’t FDA approved for permanent removal. Like, you know, having the hair all gone. Not worrying like appearing as a bearded lady. Maybe that look works for some, but on day four here, it most definitely wasn’t working for me.

Electrolysis is pretty archaic; get repeatedly prodded and electrocuted over a series of 100 plus hours for 100 plus dollars an hour. You’d think by this point, since we’re still lacking flying cars, science would’ve at least solved some of these smaller problems. What gives, science? The positive note on all this is with little hair my electro probably won’t cost all that much. And, that’s good, ’cause I’m just rich enough to get electro. Is there some privilege there? Oh you betcha.

So, I emailed my pics to E3000 per their request. They didn’t get back to me today, so hopefully Monday. If not, I’ll call. I’m pesky like that. I figure I’m better off being pro-active since the booking process is notoriously difficult.

In other positive news no one cares about but me, I’m getting in better cardio shape. Last night was the first workout where I could sustain 163 avg. bpm for my 35 minute workout. It’s just awesome, I remember when I was having a hard time keeping up at 145 bpm. I’ll never be back into cross country shape, but it’s nice just to feel better and do something for my health. While I know I’m slim, I still won’t complain if I lose a few pounds. Moving on? Moving on.

Our finances look good. Recently –baller that I am– I managed to eliminate our credit card debt. With no auto debt, or any mortgage, the only debt we’re really saddled with is student loans. I probably don’t need to point this out, but in terms of net worth, we’re worth negative dollars. Tell me that isn’t depressing. Unfortunately, it’s pretty common at this age. Folks who’re lucky and get a mortgage by thirty can break into the black by 40, 45. Wow, something to really look forward to, right?

I’ll keep the complaining to a minimum, since like I said, our finances look frankly solid. We’ve also freed up our credit lines as an “in case s–t” fund. Yes, that’s the phrase our accounting prof used, too. Always important to have that one.

Last random topic? I’ve been working on my voice more, recently. It’s not exactly where I want it, but I’m not sure it ever will be. I hear it’s easier for those with musical experience, and I definitely have that; I played two instruments (well) and sang in choir. This was all early in high school, so maybe the problem is that’s all a-ways away. All I know is that I wish my voice was a bit better, and for the past week or so I’ve worked in to the point of getting sore. I don’t really want to push it, though, so I’ll have to wait and be patient. Neither I nor anyone else I know is really good at patience. Speaking of which, I should really get back into the habit of meditating, that did good things for me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Day-to-Day Livin’

  1. Evelyn

    March 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Who is this Jackie person? I want to hear from Janie Jormpjomp!!

     
    • Jackie

      March 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      You’re not supposed to reveal my alter ego!

       

Leave a Reply

